Beyond the Shadows is getting better and more chaotic as the story progresses. What will happen next?!

*As a reminder, we’re both doing giveaways for this trilogy. If you haven’t entered already, you can do so on our introduction post.

**The following may contain spoilers for The Way of Shadows and Shadow’s Edge.

 

Did anything surprise you in this section?

{Diana} There were quite a few revelations surrounding Dorian in this section, but the thing that surprised (and dare I say terrified) me the most was The Strangers. Can you say creepy? And horrible. And, I’ll say it again, terrifying. The implications of what could be done with them is. . .is. . .I don’t even want to think about it.

{Heather} The Strangers are completely creepy. I was not expecting creatures like them to be in this world, but they add a whole new level to everything. If they were ever used, the results could be disastrous for everybody. They are just too awful to use.

 

Who was your favorite character in this section?

{Diana} Kylar, Kylar, and Kylar. I LOVE Kylar. He did something that made me very, VERY happy. If you’ve been following along you can probably guess what he did, but if not I’m not going to spoil it for you 😉

{Heather} Yes to Kylar! He was amazing! I was so happy with him. It’s funny because this is the first time Diana and I have said that Kylar was our favorite character. He’s developed a lot and becoming a really interesting character.

 

Who was your least favorite character?

{Diana} If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times: Terah Graesin. Seriously, she’s so incredibly despicable. GAH! I HATE HER.

{Heather} Terah Graesin is a horrible brat. She gets upset when something doesn’t go her way, and she is a terrible ruler. She needs to move over so Logan can be king!

 

What was your favorite quote or passage?

{Diana} My favorite quote this week is short and to the point. I love it because I feel like it applies to SO MANY situations in this story. Like, once you’ve hit rock-bottom, there’s nowhere to go but up.

“Cenaria had been burnt to the ground, and something good was trying to grow from the ashes.”

{Heather} My quote involves Kylar and Logan talking about Kylar wanting to do a certain wetboy assignment.

“Can you love an idea more than you love a man and not become a monster? How many friends will you sacrifice on the altar of Justice, Logan?”

“If you force my hand, at least one.”

I feel like this conversation between the two really shows the different perspectives and morals each of them have. They both believe strongly in what they feel and might even sacrifice friends for their beliefs.

 

What do you think will happen next?

{Diana} Complete and utter chaos? Really, your guess is as good as mine. There are so many cogs spinning in the wheel that is the plot of this book and I have no idea where any of them are going. It’s kind of unsettling.

{Heather} It’s getting so intense that I don’t even know where to begin. I’m nervous about where the end of this trilogy is going, but I want to know how everything wraps up. I just hope it does it in a way that doesn’t crush me.

