Diana and I have started our Beyond the Shadows buddy read this month! There is a lot of excitement built up for the finale of this trilogy, and neither of us can wait to find out how it all ends.

*As a reminder, we’re both doing giveaways for this trilogy. If you haven’t entered already, you can do so on our introduction post.

**The following may contain spoilers for The Way of Shadows and Shadow’s Edge.

 

Did anything surprise you in this section?

{Diana} Honestly, I feel like things are pretty mild right now, but I was surprised by what Dorian did to save Jenine. One might almost call it a sacrifice, and I’m excited/scared to see what happens with him because of it.

{Heather} I have to say finding out who Dehvi is really surprised me. For some reason, I just wasn’t expecting that character to show up so soon, but I’m glad he did. I can’t wait for Kylar to meet Dehvi. I think that scene will be quite awesome.

 

Who was your favorite character in this section?

{Diana} I am totally loving Dorian right now. I mean, I’ve always liked his character, but we’re getting to see A LOT more of him and he’s pretty awesome. Plus, the scenes between him and Jenine are just too cute for words 🙂

{Heather} I really enjoyed Dehvi. I mean you find out who he really is, and I’m just so excited. I actually squealed when it was revealed. So awesome!  I can’t wait to see more of him. At least, I hope there is more of him!

 

Who was your least favorite character?

{Diana} Terah. Graesin. Why has nobody killed her yet?!

{Heather} Yes, to everything Diana said. Terah is awful, and she needs to be eliminated soon! Her brother should go too. They can die together.

 

What was your favorite quote or passage?

{Diana} Speaking of Dorian and Jenine, this little scene between them made me laugh 🙂 *Possible Spoiler* *Explicit Language*

“You really are a wytch, aren’t you?”
“Not now. That magic is evil. I left it long ago and trained with the magi.”
“Could you use your magic to bring me warm food?” Her eyes sparkled with mischief and as they laughed together, he fell in love with her all over again.
“If I could manage a disguise that convinced Yorbas Zurgah I’m a eunuch, I think I can warm your food. Here.” And he warmed her gruel right then, hoping his I-do-have-a-penis was subtle enough.
She cocked an eyebrow at him. “Here I was thinking that if I’d been in an enchanted sleep and my prince needed to awaken me I’d have been out of luck.”
“Uh, in the books I’ve read, he wakes her with a kiss,” Dorian said.
“You’ve been reading the wrong books.”
Dorian coughed and blushed, and Jenine giggled wickedly.

{Heather} *My quote has possible spoilers as well*  This is a conversation between Dehvi and Vi:

Dehvi looked at her strangely, weighing her. “Have you ever felt that you were part of a grand design, Vi? That some benevolence was shaping your fate?”

“No,” Vi said.

Dehvi laughed. “Me neither. Goodbye, Vi. Watch out for that husband of yours; he’ll change you.” Then he left.

Once you find out who Dehvi is, it’s makes this scene even better. He’s awesome, and I love that he met up with Vi. It’s just really cool to see them in the same scene together. I hope there’s more!

 

What do you think will happen next?

{Diana} Somebody’s gonna die. Or maybe even lots of somebodies. I mean, it’s been 170 pages and the carnage has been uncharacteristically low. I feel like the other shoe is about to drop and when it does, I hope Terah Graesin is the first to go.

{Heather} I really want something to happen to Terah too, but I’m sure we’ll have to wait a while before anything horrible happens to her. Hopefully, it does because I can’t stand if she wins and doesn’t get what’s coming to her.

