Part three of our Shadow’s Edge buddy read. Next week, we will be finishing this book and moving on to book three, Beyond the Shadows, in April.

*As a reminder, we’re both doing giveaways for this trilogy. If you haven’t entered already, you can do so on our introduction post.

**The following may contain spoilers for the first book, The Way of Shadows.

 

Did anything surprise you in this section?

{Diana} Only everything that happened in the Hole! And that’s A LOT of stuff, let me tell you! I may have yelled at the book a lot in this section.

{Heather} Everything in the Hole definitely surprised me too. I wasn’t expecting things to go that way. Hu Gibbet’s part was also a big surprise to me. I really want to tell everybody what happened, but I can’t spoil it. Go read the book now!

 

Who was your favorite character in this section?

{Diana} Since I was pretty preoccupied with the goings-on taking place in the Hole, my favorite character this go ’round is definitely Gnasher. The big guy was so protective of Logan that it’s hard not to love him.

{Heather} I have to say Lilly was my favorite this round. Her actions in the hole for this section were very selfless, and I really liked what she did for Logan. So much stuff happens in the Hole.

 

Who was your least favorite character?

{Diana} Fin. Fin, Fin, Fin, a thousand times FIN. I hate that guy. I yelled a lot because of that guy. I was extremely happy when that guy got what was coming to him. EXTREMELY happy.

{Heather} I’ll definitely agree with Diana on Fin, but I also didn’t like Gorkhy. He is such an awful person, and when it’s revealed how truly horrible he is, I wanted something terrible to happen to him.

 

What was your favorite quote or passage?

{Diana} I’m sorry, but it’s about to get a tad bit spoilery. The passage that I like doesn’t really give away any major plot points, but it does kind of allude to them, so you’ve been warned.

“You’ll doom us all,” Agon said. “You have the kind of power I’d die for, and you won’t use it to help us. Damn you.” . . .
“I know it doesn’t make sense,” [Kylar] said. “But I swore to leave this behind me. I broke that vow for Logan. That cost me Elene’s love and Uly’s trust. I didn’t abandon them so I could steal another life, but so I could save a life. Do you understand?”

I liked this quote because it showcases Kylar’s honor. That may sound strange because he admits to breaking vows and whatnot, but Agon and Momma K have just offered him the motherload of all wetboy jobs, and instead he chooses to use his powers for good to save a friend who may or may not be alive. It’s like, yeah, he’s made some sacrifices, but he’s gonna be darn sure that whatever he does next will be worthy of those sacrifices. Does that make sense?

{Heather} My quote will also be a bit spoilery. I’ll just say it’s a character talking to Kylar.

The man smiled wolfishly at him. “You are nothing but a fat, awkward child in the land of giants. You close your mouth instead of eating. You speak when you should listen. What are you for? Any answer I gave you’d reject. So why should I waste my time? You’re as arrogant as your master ever was, and you don’t have a shred of his wisdom. I find you wanting.”

“What am I supposed to do?”

“Better. Do better.”

I really like this quote because it helps put Kylar in his place for this scene. I like Kylar’s character, but he still needs to grow in some areas, especially when it comes to his powers. He’s only just beginning to understand everything, but he acts as if he already knows everything. I can’t wait to see more interaction between Kylar and this character.

 

What do you think will happen next?

{Diana} I haven’t got a clue, but I really want to know what’s going on with Elene (even though I still hate her) and Uly and Feir and Curouch and Jenine and Dorian and Solon. . . and the list goes on and on. Weeks seriously owes us some answers before the end of this book. LOTS of answers.

{Heather} Deaths. Lots of death. I’m pretty much waiting for the rest of the cast to die. Brent Weeks is not afraid to kill off his characters. I try not to get too attached to anyone for fear they will die.

