This is part two of our Shadow’s Edge buddy read. We’re almost halfway through now and everything is getting intense. If you missed part one, you can find it here.

*As a reminder, we’re both doing giveaways for this trilogy. If you haven’t entered already, you can do so on our introduction post.

**The following may contain spoilers for the first book, The Way of Shadows.

Did anything surprise you in this section?

{Diana} I think the more appropriate question would be, “What didn’t surprise me in this section?” There was that thing with Dorian and the weave, that thing with Kylar and Retribution (which made me question Kylar’s sanity, BTW), who Tenser really was, that time with Logan and the pointy thing, and THAT THING WITH JARL. So, yeah. Plenty of surprises 😉

{Heather} I completely agree with Diana on this one. Everything was a mess, haha. In this section, everything started to build tension, and the story took quite a few turns I wasn’t expecting. The whole thing with Jarl really surprised me. I was not prepared for that scene at all. Brent Weeks, what are you doing to us?!

Who was your favorite character in this section?

{Diana} I’m gonna have to go with Logan this time. I’m fascinated by his character growth and how he’s handling everything that he’s been through. I also really liked General/Commander/Whatever-He-Is Agon. He’s just SO honorable and, like, one of the only characters that you can trust. I think.

{Heather} I would have to say Jarl for this section. He was really owning his role and taking charge. It’s really interesting to see how he’s changed since the start of the trilogy. My second favorite character would have to be Elene . . . just kidding (See next question).

Who was your least favorite character?

{Diana} ELENE. Gah! I just want to shake her! I STRONGLY dislike how she’s trying to change and, dare I say, manipulate Kylar. Yes, he loves her, and yes, he decided to give up the biz for her, but can’t she see what it’s doing to him??? Having him fight his nature and potentially break a vow that he made to her and OTHER STUPID THINGS THAT MADE ME YELL AT MY BOOK LIKE A CRAZY PERSON IS HURTING HIM. Ahem. She’s smothering him and I don’t like it, not one bit.

{Heather} Elene for sure! I hope she develops more in the rest of the trilogy because I really don’t like her now. I don’t hate her . . . no, I’m pretty sure I hate her. I can’t stand what she does to Kylar and how she acts superior to him. Whenever I read a chapter with her in it, I mentally check out because I want to smack her so much.

What was your favorite quote or passage?

{Diana} There’s a part where Momma K and Agon are talking about their strategies for the rebellion, which somehow leads to them talking about their shared history and how (*POSSIBLE SPOILER*) even if he wanted to be with her he couldn’t because there’s a chance that his wife might still be alive somewhere and how he couldn’t betray her as long as that chance was still alive, so could she please help him to resist his attraction to her (“her” being Momma K). First of all, I love how noble Agon is, and second of all (and finally getting to the point) I loved this exchange at the end of their conversation:

“You’ve chosen a hard road,” she said.
“Not a road, a battle. Sometimes life is our battlefield. We must do what we know to do, not what we want to do.”

Can I get a “TRUTH”? I feel like this rings true not only in real life, but also for the majority of characters in this book.

{Heather} Uly has been through a lot in her life, and I really like how this quote gives her more depth. It’s a reminder that children can suffer just as much as adults, and it makes it even worse when they become victims.

If anyone thought children couldn’t suffer pain as deeply as adults, Kylar wished they could see Uly’s eyes now. For all he loved her, he’d been treating her as a child rather than as a human being.

I enjoy this whole scene with Uly because it also shows that she still has some innocence left even after everything she’s been through. It shows more about the relationship between her and Kylar and how close they’ve become.

What do you think will happen next?

{Diana} Honestly, I’ve stopped trying to figure it out—I’m usually wrong anyway! But, I think we’re about to head into some serious chaos. Things are definitely picking up steam and I’m pretty sure it’s all about to hit the proverbial fan 😉

{Heather} I’m pretty sure some people are going to die. No idea who, but I wouldn’t be upset if it was Elene.

