Diana and I begin our buddy read with Shadow’s Edge (The second book in The Night Angel Trilogy).

I was going to add a summary to this post of the events that take place in these chapters, but I don’t want to spoil any more than we have to. I want everyone to enjoy all the twists and turns that this trilogy offers. If anyone would like a summary of what happened, I will be more than happy to add one in.

*As a reminder, we’re both doing giveaways for this trilogy. If you haven’t entered already, you can do so on our introduction post.

**The following may contain spoilers for the first book, The Way of Shadows.

Did anything surprise you in this section?

{Diana} You know, there really hasn’t been anything that’s made me gape in astonishment and yell “Whaaaaaaaat???!!!” at the book yet—but I can feel it coming. There are things-a-brewing though, I can feel it.
Wait. I take that back. I was kind of surprised at that job Kylar took, the one down at the docks. It went south pretty quick and I’m still wondering what in the world it was all about. I mean, I see that it’s tied to a certain plot thread, but I don’t really grasp the importance of it yet. So there’s that.

{Heather} I have to say what Logan does to survive shocked me quite a bit. I mean I had a hunch that he might have to do something like that, but I didn’t actually think about him doing it until it happened. I just feel so bad for him because he’s a good person, and he didn’t deserve what happened to him. Although, I do think everything that he is going through will make him an even stronger character. Now, all he needs to do is get out of the Hole.

 

Who was your favorite character in this section?

{Diana} The obvious answer here would be Kylar, right? But honestly, I’m really liking Uly right know. The poor girl has been through so much recently and yet, despite that, she has this strength about her that’s pretty inspiring. Plus, being only 11, she still has that childlike wonder and sense of innocence that definitely provides a ray of light in this kind of dark story—not to mention comic relief 😉

{Heather} Logan is the answer to this question as well, haha. I just really like how his character is developing, and I like that he isn’t the perfectly untainted character anymore. As of now, he’s still trying to keep to his morals. It’s interesting to see how he reacts to his new situation, and I can’t wait to see what happens WHEN he gets out. There is no IF. He will get out. I know it . . . at least I hope. O.O

 

Who was your least favorite character?

{Diana} Ooooh, this one is a toss up between the Godking, Garoth Ursuul, and Verdmeister Neph Dada at the moment. The Godking is evil and power-hungry (and does some pretty gross things on page 7), but Neph Dada is conniving and sneaky and obviously has some kind of nefarious plan tucked up his sleeve. . . I’m not sure which is worse.

{Heather} Besides the Godking and Hu Gibbet, I have to say that I’m not a big fan of Elene. I just don’t like how she’s trying to change Kylar. I understand why she would want to, but I want Kylar to embrace his new talents. It’s not that I don’t like her character. I just don’t like that she’s trying to change him. They both had rough childhoods, and I want her to understand his point of view.

 

What was your favorite quote or passage?

{Diana} I’m totally loving the banter between Kylar, Elene, and Uly, but I think I’m going to go with a quote from Momma K:

“Just because it’s a dream doesn’t mean it’s a lie.”

Things have never been great in Cenaria, especially in the Warrens, but since the Khalidorians invaded things have been positively dire. When Momma K said that to Jarl, it kind of gave me a little spark of hope—hope that maybe they’ll rally, fight back, and change things for the better. I won’t be holding my breath though; Brent Weeks has a way of dashing dreams LOL.

{Heather} I also really like that banter between Kylar, Elene, and Uly. I found myself laughing out loud at quite a few bits of their dialogue. However, my favorite quote would have to be from Dorian:

“Why is it, my shadow-striding friend, that we don’t fear dreams? We lose consciousness, lose control, things happen with no apparent logic and abiding by no apparent rules. Friends appear and morph into strangers. Environments shift abruptly, and we rarely question it. We don’t fear dreams, but we do fear madness, and death terrifies us.”

I’ve never really thought of dreams like this, and I like Dorian’s point. Even though we have no control, we don’t fear dreams like we do other aspects in our lives. It’s an interesting concept to think about.

 

What do you think will happen next?

{Diana} Well that’s a loaded question! There’s no telling where Weeks is going to take us! But, I HOPE that Kylar is finally going to snap out of it and embrace his destiny (sounds epic, right?) and that Logan finds a way to escape the Hole *crosses fingers*.

{Heather} I completely agree with Diana. I want Kylar to go back to being a wetboy, and I want Logan to escape the Hole. Logan needs to get out, or I will be so mad. He’s been through so much, and I want him to get out and become the leader that everyone needs.

