A little late on posting my birthday book haul since my birthday was on November 5th, but today I had some time to do a post. I’ve already read both Saga volumes, and I have to say that the fourth one cannot be published fast enough. I need it in my life because I have to know what happens next. The anticipation will be the death of me.

*All descriptions taken from Goodreads, and all pictures link to their respective Goodreads pages.

Saga, Vol. 2 – Brian K. Vaughan (Writer), Fiona Staples (Artist)
Genre – Science Fiction/Graphic Novel

From award-winning writer BRIAN K. VAUGHAN (Pride of Baghdad, Ex Machina) and critically acclaimed artist FIONA STAPLES (Mystery Society, Done to Death), SAGA is sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the universe. Thanks to her star-crossed parents Marko and Alana, newborn baby Hazel has already survived lethal assassins, rampaging armies, and horrific monsters, but in the cold vastness of outer space, the little girl encounters her strangest adventure yet… grandparents.

Collects Saga issues #7-12.

 

 

Saga, Vol. 3 – Brian K. Vaughan (Writer), Fiona Staples (Artist)
Genre – Science Fiction/Graphic Novel

From the Hugo Award-winning duo of Brian K. Vaughan (The Private Eye, Y: The Last Man) and Fiona Staples (North 40, Red Sonja), Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the universe. Searching for their literary hero, new parents Marko and Alana travel to a cosmic lighthouse on the planet Quietus, while the couple’s multiple pursuers finally close in on their targets.

Collects issues 13-18.

 

 

Long Lankin – Lindsey Barraclough
Genre – Young Adult/Horror

Beware of Long Lankin, that lives in the moss. . . .When Cora and her younger sister, Mimi, are sent to stay with their elderly aunt in the isolated village of Byers Guerdon, they receive a less than warm welcome. Auntie Ida is eccentric and rigid, and the girls are desperate to go back to London. But what they don’t know is that their aunt’s life was devastated the last time two young sisters were at Guerdon Hall, and she is determined to protect her nieces from an evil that has lain hidden for years. Along with Roger and Peter, two village boys, Cora must uncover the horrifying truth that has held Bryers Guerdon in its dark grip for centuries — before it’s too late for little Mimi. Riveting and intensely atmospheric, this stunning debut will hold readers in its spell long after the last page is turned.

 


 

On to the book club portion of this post. I’ve been wanting to join a book club, but I haven’t found any that consistently pick books that I will enjoy. So, I decided that I wanted to start my own, in a sense. My book club members will consist of just Chad and myself. 🙂 This way I will be able to pick books that I know I will like while having someone to read and discuss with. Of course Chad picks out books he likes too, and we go through and decide which of our choices we would both like.

If you would like to “join” this unofficial book club, just let me know in the comments. I would love to have discussions on these books, and I’m always up for buddy reads.

Our first choices for this month include the following:

It – Stephen King
Genre – Horror

The story follows the exploits of seven children as they are terrorized by an eponymous being, which exploits the fears and phobias of its victims in order to disguise itself while hunting its prey. “It” primarily appears in the form of a clown in order to attract its preferred prey of young children. The novel is told through narratives alternating between two time periods, and is largely told in the third-person omniscient mode. It deals with themes which would eventually become King staples: the power of memory, childhood trauma, and the ugliness lurking behind a façade of traditional small-town values.

 

 

Shadow’s Edge (#2)- Brent Weeks
Genre – Fantasy

Kylar Stern has rejected the assassin’s life. The Godking’s successful coup has left Kylar’s master, Durzo, and his best friend, Logan, dead. He is starting over: new city, new friends, and new profession.

But when he learns that Logan might actually be alive and in hiding, Kylar is faced with an agonizing choice: will he give up the way of shadows forever and live in peace with his new family, or will he risk everything by taking on the ultimate hit?

 

