I was approached by the community manager at Man Crates to make a post about what I would want to have if I was stuck in a horror movie. It sounded like a really fun idea, so of course I agreed. Man Crates is a company that specializes in gifts for men. The concept is to ship your man a crate that he has to open with a crowbar. There are different types of crates to choose from, and there are even some for zombie survival. If this sounds interesting to you, definitely check out the website.

While I don’t watch a lot of horror movies, I do enjoy some with zombies. If I was stuck in a zombie apocalypse, these are the items I would want to have to help me survive.

 

1. Magnesium Fire Starter

Fire is very important for cooking and for keeping warm. I don’t know about you, but I don’t believe I would be able to start a fire with only sticks, especially when I’m fearing for my life. That’s why I would want one of these.

A lighter would be nice, but it would eventually run out of fuel and knowing my luck it would happen when I need it the most.

 

2. Gun With Lots of Ammo and a Silencer

Killing the zombies will be very important and for that, I will need a weapon. My first choice is to have a gun with lots of ammo. In an ideal zombie apocalypse, I will have plenty of ammo to spare and will never run out. I want to be able to kill them without having to get too close. The silencer will help keep it quiet and prevent more zombies from being drawn to the noise.

When I’m not killing zombies with the gun, I can hunt with it. Or you know, celebrate being alive as shown in this gif:

 

3. Axe

For those times when I have to get up close and personal with the undead, a gun might not be convenient. This is where an axe will be handy.

Plus, I can use it to break open doors to loot houses as needed. Yay vandalism!

4. Medical Kit

This will be essential for me because I can be a klutz and swinging an axe around to break into peoples’ houses will only make that worse. I’m going to need bandages, disinfectant, pain killers, and everything else I can squeeze in there.

If I’m going to die from the zombie apocalypse, I don’t want it to be because my boo boo got infected.

 

5. Flashlight and Plenty of Batteries

There will be plenty of dark nights, so having a flashlight will be very important. I won’t be one of these horror movie victims that can’t see in the dark because they don’t have any light. And there’s nothing worse than a flashlight without batteries, so I want to make sure I stockpile those as well.

I could get a mechanically powered flashlight, but they normally make noise and that’s not good when zombies are around, especially in the dark.

 

6. Athletic Shoes

There will be lots of running, so I want some decent running shoes that will last a while. The shoes I have now are not good for running, so if I was stuck with those, I would be doomed. I might want a couple pairs too. While we’re planning for the apocalypse, we might as well be extra prepared.

 

7. Canned Food and Can Opener

I have to eat and hunting won’t always be effective, so I need another source of food that will last me a while. Canned goods will stay fresh for a long period of time. To get into most cans, I will also need a can opener. I could use my axe but that might get messy.

 

8. Solar Charger

Life without electricity is going to suck. I want be able to use some of my electronics for a little while at least. I would want a solar charger, so I can read my e-books, listen to music, and watch movies when I’m not fending for my life. There’s no need to go without some luxuries. I just need to plan ahead and load up my tablet beforehand.

 

 

9. Pet

It’s going to be lonely out there so having a pet along for the ride might be nice. A dog would help defend me and cuddle up with me at night. If a dog isn’t available, I’ll take this attack bird:

 

10. Helicopter

When all else fails and humans are losing, I’m getting the heli out of Dodge. I’m going to find a deserted island and wait it out with Wilson.

Not that I know how to fly a helicopter, but it’ll come with an instruction manual, right? Right?

 

Bonus Choice:

Good luck – I’m going to need it because I’m no survivalist. I’ll probably end up eating some poisonous berries miles away from the nearest zombie threat, or I’ll end up tripping and falling with all of this stuff I’m carrying and a zombie will eat me.

What would you want during a zombie apocalypse? Or what would you want if you were trapped in a horror movie? Let me know in the comments or leave a link if you’ve already done something similar to this.

*I was not compensated for this post in any way. It was just for fun.

