The TBR posts are back! After my long break and the read-a-thons, I thought I would go ahead and share what I’ll be reading next. I did finish reading The Time Machine by H. G. Wells, and I enjoyed it. I’ll have a short review of it on my August Wrap-Up. I’m still reading The Map of Time by Félix J. Palma. Since it’s 609 pages, I won’t pressure myself to read it in a week. I’ll read it throughout the week when I have time. Here are the two books I will definitely try to finish during this week.

Dreams of the Dead – Thomas Randall
Genre – Young Adult/Horror

Kara’s afraid to go to sleep until the nightmares come when she’s awake . . . .

Sixteen-year-old Kara Foster is an outsider in Japan, but is doing her best to fit at the private school where her father is teaching English for the year. Fortunately she’s befriended by Sakura, a fellow outsider struggling to make sense of her sister’s unsolved murder some months ago. No one seems to care about the beautiful girl who was so brutally murdered, and the other students go on as if nothing has happened. Unfortunately, the calm doesn’t last for long. Kara begins to have nightmares, and soon other students in the school turn up dead, viciously attacked by someone . . . or something. Is Sakura getting back at those she thinks are responsible for her sister’s death? Or has her dead sister come back to take revenge for herself?

 

The Murder Farm – Andrea Maria Schenkel (Also known as Tannöd)
Genre – Mystery

A whole family has been murdered with a pickaxe. They were old Danner the farmer, an overbearing patriarch, his put-upon devoutly religious wife, and their daughter Barbara Spangler, whose husband Vincenz left her after fathering her daughter, Marianne. Also murdered was the Danners’ new maidservant, Marie, who was regarded as slightly simple. Despite the brutal nature of the killings and the small village where it has taken place, the police have no leads. Officially the crime is unsolved. And then a former resident returns home The Murder Farm is an unconventional detective story. The author interweaves testament from the villagers, an oblique view of the murderer, occasional third-person narrative pieces and passages of pious devotion. The narrator leaves the village unaware of the truth, only the reader is able to reach the shattering conclusion.

 

*Descriptions taken from Goodreads.

I’m in the mood for some horror and mystery books. Dreams of the Dead sounds really interesting, and I don’t think I’ve read any books set in Japan. I’m excited to find out what happened to the girl and what is happening to all of the students. I’m hoping it’s an entertaining and scary read. I requested The Murder Farm off of Netgalley and was approved, so I thought this would be a good time to read it. I like the idea that the story is told through testaments and third-person narrative pieces because I haven’t read any mysteries told this way. It sounds like a great mystery.

Let me know what you’re currently reading or what you just finished reading.

