While I was browsing through Youtube, as I tend to do a lot, I found this new tag by one of my favorite booktubers. It’s the Nine Circles of Hell Tag created by Missy on Booktube. The tag was inspired by The Divine Comedy (Dante’s Inferno) by Dante Alighieri and of course, features the nine circles of hell described in the book. Each question represents a different circle.

 

Circle 1: Limbo
1. What book series have you read the first book but have not made the decision to finish the rest?

  • Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
    • I’ve been hesitant to continue on with this trilogy because I liked the first book, but I wasn’t a big fan of Juliette and the writing style with all the crossed out words. I hear that she gets stronger as a character and that there are less crossed out words in the following books, but I’m not sure if I want to continue with this trilogy or not.

 

Circle 2: Lust
2. What book do you not own that you can’t wait to get your hands on. MOST ANTICIPATED!!

  • Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
    • This is the third installment of The Raven Cycle Series, and I’m so excited to get this book! I don’t want to read the The Dream Thieves yet because I don’t want to have to wait a long time to read the next book. I cannot wait till I get this book and find out what happens with all of the amazing characters.

 

Circle 3: Gluttony
3. What book or series could you read over and over and never get your fill?

  • The Wereling Trilogy by Stephen Cole
    • This trilogy includes Wounded, Prey, and Resurrection. I just love these books so much. These are the books that made me fall in love with reading. I ended up finding them at my local book fair when I was younger, and I remember finishing Wounded and begged my mom to take me back so I could get the next book. This trilogy holds a special place in my heart, and I would gladly read it over and over again.

 

Circle 4: Greed
4. What book do you need multiple copies of even though you own enough of them?

  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
    • I actually own two copies of this book, one signed hardback and one paperback. I received the signed hardback as a Valentine’s Day Gift this year and believe me many tears were shed.  This is such a beautiful book, and I try to recommend it as often as I can. Honestly, I would buy many more copies of this book if there were different editions and covers.

 

Circle 5: Wrath
5. What book did you hate and would never recommend?

  • Trapped by Michael Northrop
    • I’m not even sure where to start with this book. I try not to give books one stars, but I couldn’t find anything that I liked about this book. While I was reading it, I wanted to stop so many times and throw it against the wall. I feel like so many things went wrong with this book, and I would not recommend it.

 

Circle 6: Heresy
6. What book or series got really low ratings/or that most people despised, but you LOVED?

  • Overnight by Adele Griffin
    • I finished reading this one recently, and when I went to check some of the ratings, I noticed that they were really low. While I didn’t love the story, I did really enjoy it, and I’m not entirely sure why it received such low ratings. I hope more people find out about it and give it a chance.

 

Circle 7: Violence
7. What dystopian book/series had the most violent society in your opinion?

  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
    • While this story doesn’t have an entire dystopian society, the boys create their own society. There were quite a few savage moments throughout this novel, and I feel it’s one of the most violent dystopians I have read. It’s such a great book and really represents how some people can be reduced to primitive instincts when put in danger.

 

Circle 8: Fraud
8. What book did the cover or synopsis not truthfully depict the story?

  • The Fever by Megan Abbott
    • When I read the synopsis for this book, I thought it was going to be a mystery/thriller about what happened to the town and what secrets the Nash family might be hiding. What I read was something completely different. The secrets were not what I had expected and the reason for the hysteria and contagion that spread through the town was unsatisfying. It wasn’t what I originally thought it would be, and I was disappointed.

 

Circle 9: Treachery
9. What book/series did the protagonist start off strong but grew weaker as time went on?

  • A Fair Maiden by Joyce Carol Oates
    • At the beginning, Katya was self-aware and as strong as she could be in her situation. However, she deals with some pretty terrible experiences throughout this book, and I feel as though she is worse off now than at the start of the story. I’m pretty sure this was the author’s intent, but I felt so bad for Katya and I don’t think she’ll be the same.

 

I Tag:

  • Anyone that would like to do this tag.
