After participating in the BookTubeAThon, I want to keep my momentum up and do another readathon. (I’ll be posting my BookTubeAThon conclusion tomorrow.) I think the under-hyped readathon is a great idea because we get to share and read books that are not well-known.

The readathon starts on July 21st and ends on July 27th. The only rules are that the books have to be considered under-hyped. An example being that you only read books under 5,000 ratings on Goodreads, but it’s up to the reader what they consider under-hyped. The Under-Hyped Readathon’s Goodreads page has more information and discussions to participate in as you read.

Below is the list of some books that I plan on trying to read during this week. Of course, I won’t be able to read them all, but I’ll be able to pick from a variety of books.

  1. Vicious by V. E. Schwab (Victoria Schwab)
  2. The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke
  3. A Feast of Snakes by Harry Crews
  4. Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas (Abby McDonald)
  5. Following Polly by Karen Bergreen
  6. Six Months Later by Natalie Richards
  7. The Fever by Megan Abbott

All of these books are under 5,000 ratings on Goodreads except for The Assassin’s Curse, which has almost 7,000 ratings. I might end up taking it off the list later, but I’ll leave it for now because I’ve been really wanting to read it. I’ve also been wanting to read Vicious, so I think that will be the first book I pick up during this week. I’ll have a post in the middle of the week to show where I am with my reading. Let me know if you’re participating in this readathon or what you’re planning on reading during this week. Happy reading!

UPDATE (7/21/14):

Chad has decided he wants to participate in this readathon too, so I’m going to add in his choices below:

  1. The Edge of the World by Kevin J. Anderson
  2. The Map of All Things by Kevin J. Anderson
  3. The Key to Creation by Kevin J. Anderson
  4. Russian Amerika by Stoney Compton
  5. Weapons of Choice by John Birmingham
