I’ve watched quite a few movies and even read a few books that have a main character with psychological problems, and they are some of my favorites. That sounds kind of morbid, but I will explain. I absolutely love psychological thrillers, especially ones where the main character is searching for the killer or trying to solve a mystery and finds out that the culprit is himself/herself. An example of this would be that the protagonist has dissociative identity disorder (multiple personalities) but doesn’t realize it until the very end. I love when there is a high re-watch value for a movie or I can reread a book and find all of the clues I missed the first time.

I’d rather not mention any of the books or movies with this twist because I don’t want to spoil any of them for anyone. It would ruin the fun of finding out.

Which brings us to my dilemma. While reading or watching a new thriller, I seem to be obsessed with the idea of the main character being the perpetrator. I will be reading or watching a thriller or some type of mystery, and my first thought will be that the main protagonist is the killer or the person everyone is looking for. I will then pick out clues as I go along and create this elaborate ending that goes with my guess. Of course, when it turns out to be someone else, I’m a bit disappointed. I guess in my mind, the protagonist should always be the murderer or offender.

I just wanted to share this to find out if I’m the only one with this strange obsession. What are some unusual movie/book obsessions that you have?

