I have finished reading Red Bang and Casting Shadows Everywhere and both books were a pleasant surprise. I will most likely have a review up for Red Bang this Tuesday. I actually started reading Trapped by Michael Northrop a while ago, and I still haven’t finished it. It’s taking me forever to read. I’m not particularly enjoying it, but I’m planning on finishing it tomorrow after work. Anyway, here are the books I plan on reading next:

Geek Love – Katherine Dunn
Genre – Horror/Fantasy

Geek Love is the story of the Binewskis, a carny family whose mater- and paterfamilias set out–with the help of amphetamine, arsenic, and radioisotopes–to breed their own exhibit of human oddities. There’s Arturo the Aquaboy, who has flippers for limbs and a megalomaniac ambition worthy of Genghis Khan . . . Iphy and Elly, the lissome Siamese twins . . . albino hunchback Oly, and the outwardly normal Chick, whose mysterious gifts make him the family’s most precious–and dangerous–asset.

As the Binewskis take their act across the backwaters of the U.S., inspiring fanatical devotion and murderous revulsion; as its members conduct their own Machiavellian version of sibling rivalry, Geek Love throws its sulfurous light on our notions of the freakish and the normal, the beautiful and the ugly, the holy and the obscene. Family values will never be the same.

This Song Will Save Your Life – Leila Sales
Genre – Young Adult/Contemporary

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

Told in a refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny voice, THIS SONG WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE is an exuberant novel about identity, friendship, and the power of music to bring people together.

*Descriptions taken from Goodreads.

I’ve been wanting to read Geek Love ever since it was recommended to me by a classmate. He, of course, told me about some of the creepy and disturbing things that happen within the book, so I’m prepared for it. This sounds like a very interesting story. I just recently discovered This Song Will Save Your Life, and it sounds really good. I’m excited to find out what happens.

