I finished reading Daughter of Smoke & Bone and Red Dragon, and let me just say, they were pretty awesome. I’ll have my short review up for both in my monthly wrap-up. However, if anyone would like a full review on any of the books I read, just let me know. I would love requests if there are any.

The Broken – Shelley Coriell
Genre – Romance/Thriller
Pub. Date – April 29, 2014

He took her life, but left her alive.

Three years ago, reporter Kate Johnson was the first victim—and only survivor—of the Broadcast Butcher. Scarred both physically and psychologically by the brutal serial killer, Kate lives life on the run, knowing that one day, he will find her and finish what he started.

In the pursuit of justice, you sometimes have to step outside the law.

Agent Hayden Reed spends his life chasing monsters. The only way to stay sane is to detach, but the second the Broadcast Butcher case crosses his desk, Hayden knows this is the case that might just cost him his soul. To catch this vicious murderer before he strikes again, Hayden must find Kate and earn her trust. For it’s her darkest secrets that hold the key to stopping this madman once and for all. . .

We Are The Goldens – Dana Reinhardt
Genre – Young Adult/Contemporary
Pub. Date – May 27, 2014

Nell knows a secret about her perfect, beautiful sister Layla. If she tells, it could blow their world apart.

When Nell and Layla were little, Nell used to call them Nellaya. Because to Nell, there was no difference between where she started and her adored big sister ended. They’re a unit; divorce made them rely on each other early on, so when one pulls away, what is the other to do? But now, Nell’s a freshman in high school and Layla is changing, secretive. And then Nell discovers why. Layla is involved with one of their teachers. And even though Nell tries to support Layla, to understand that she’s happy and in love, Nell struggles with her true feelings: it’s wrong, and she must do something about it.

*Description taken from Goodreads.

I received both of these books from Netgalley. It’s really exciting to be able to read a book before it’s published and share my opinion on it. I requested The Broken, and I was pre-approved for We Are The Goldens, which is really amazing to me. I’m sure most users get way more pre-approved books, but since this is my first one, it’s very exciting. Both of them sound really interesting, and I’m looking forward to reading them.

