I’ve finished reading Ready Player One, The Archived, and Skary Childrin and the Carousel of Sorrow. I’m excited and surprised that I was able to read three books at once. At first, I thought I might be over doing it, but I accomplished my goal. Since I’m on a roll, I’m going to keep the momentum going and show the next two books I’m going to be reading this week.

Daughter of Smoke & Bone – Laini Taylor
Genre – Young Adult/Fantasy

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hairactually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Red Dragon – Thomas Harris
Genre – Horror

Will Graham stands in a silent, empty house communing with a killer. An FBI instructor with a gift for hunting madmen, Graham knows what his murderer looks like, how he thinks, and what he did to his victims after they died. Now Graham must try to catch him. But to do it, he must feel the heat of a killer’s brain, draw on the macabre advice of a dangerous mental patient, Dr. Hannibal Lecter, and follow a trail of microscopic clues to the place where another family has already been chosen to die–and where an innocent woman has found the Dragon first.

 

*Description taken from Goodreads.

Daughter of Smoke & Bone has been on my shelf for a while, and I’ve been wanting to read it. I figured this was a perfect time to start. Plus, I hear the third book is coming out on the 8th of this month, so I need to catch up. I’ve also been meaning to read about Dr. Hannibal Lecter for some time. I actually haven’t even seen the movie yet. After I read the series or at least The Silence of the Lambs, I will watch the movie. I do want to read the book first though because the book is always better than the movie, and the movie is awesome, so the book should be even better.

