As I’ve stated in some of my recent posts, I’ve started to use a new strategy for reading books. Since I have such a huge TBR pile, I want to read a large portion of my books. If someone asks, I want to be able to say I’ve read quite a few books from my shelves. I’ve only been reading one book at a time. It’s fine, but I’m a slow reader, and I’m not able to read my books as fast as I would like. I can also be a bit unmotivated to read sometimes. For some reason, when I start a new book, I feel like I have to finish it the same day. Don’t ask me why, but that’s how I feel. Of course when I don’t complete this unreachable goal (unless it’s a short book), it’s kind of discouraging. However, I stumbled upon a new way to read my books faster.

While I was searching through Youtube (like always), I found this reading tip:

I was able to successfully use this new method to read Endless and Cinder. Right now, I’m reading three books Ready Player One, The Archived, and Skary Childrin and the Carousel of Sorrow. It’s quite ambitious, but it’s actually going pretty well so far. They are different genres, so it’s easy to keep up with. I give myself a week to read the books, same as Melissa in the video. I divide the chapters up, so if a book has 35 chapters, I will read 5 chapters each day. If the book doesn’t have chapters, I just divide the pages. She explains it better in the video.

I also read the books at different points in the day, so one in the morning or evening and the other in the evening or at night. Really I read whenever I have time. So far, it’s been working really well. I’m able to feel accomplished each day because I finish my reading goals. Plus, at the end of each week, I have completed two or three books instead of one, which is even better. Just thought I would share my new discovery. Let me know how many books you read at a time. Do you read only one book or do you have multiple books going at once?

